Back to headlines


BJP’s Vijay Kumar Sinha elected Bihar Speaker amid opposition ruckus

Vijay Kumar Sinha was on Wednesday elected the Speaker of the 17th Vidhan Sabha in Bihar, becoming the first BJP leader to achieve the feat in the state. Sinha was elected amid ruckus by RJD members who questioned the presence of chief minister Nitish Kumar in the House. CM Kumar is a member of the Legislative Council. While 126 votes went in favour of the motion for Sinha’s election, 114 were against him. After that, Pro-tem Speaker Jitan Ram Manjhi urged chief minister Nitish Kumar and leader of Opposition Tejashwi Yadav to escort Vijay Sinha to the chair of the Speaker.

News source ~ HT