Back to headlines


BJP wins 19 seats, Congress 9 in Madhya Pradesh bypolls

The result of the Madhya Pradesh bypolls has been announced and Bharaita Janata Party has emerged victorious. The BJP has won 19 of the 28 seats in fray while Congress won nine seats. The results will decide the fate of the Shivraj Singh Chouhan government and will also hint at the effect the Jyotiraditya Scindia factor in the political scenario. It is also crucial for former Chief Minister Kamal Nath, who lost power in the state seven months ago after Scindia quit the Congress and joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). The BJP currently has 107 MLAs in MP assembly with an effective strength of 229. Meanwhile, the Congress has 87 legislators in the House.

News source ~ India Today