Back to headlines


Eight Syrian ministers added to EU sanctions list

BRUSSELS: The EU on Friday added eight ministers from the new Syrian government formed in August to its sanctions blacklist for their role in President Bashar Assad’s violent repression of civilians.

The decision by the EU’s 27 member countries bans the ministers from traveling to Europe and will see their assets frozen. The EU’s official journal on Friday added the names of the ministers of oil and mineral resources, industry, health, agriculture and three ministers of state.

News source ~ Arab News